• à propos de nous
  • Marlene Millar
  • Philip Szporer
  • Essai de conservation
  • 2010-pandmÉtablie à Montréal, la compagnie Mouvement Perpétuel œuvre dans la production de documentaires axés sur l’art.

    Marlene Millar et Philip Szporer se rencontrent pour la première fois en 1986, lorsque tous deux collaborent à titre de danseurs-interprètes au travail du chorégraphe new-yorkais Charles Dennis. Partageant depuis une solide amitié, ils poursuivent parallèlement leur carrière professionnelle dans les domaines de la danse contemporaine, de la performance, du journalisme, du film et de la vidéo d’art. En 1996, ils unissent leurs aptitudes et intérêts artistiques pour entreprendre une première ébauche de ce qui deviendra plus tard la série documentaire Au fil du mouvement/Moments in Motion. Boursiers de l’Université de la Californie, à Los Angeles (UCLA), pour le Dance/Media Project, ils élaborent plusieurs projets aux États-Unis. En 2001, ils fondent la compagnie Mouvement Perpétuel.

    Mouvement Perpétuel reflète le profond engagement de Marlene Millar et de Philip Szporer, et leur volonté de promouvoir l’art et de susciter l’intérêt d’un public plus large par les voies du documentaire et du film expérimental.

    Partager leur expertise, Marlene et Philip ont mené des classes de maître et des ateliers, ainsi que des présentations, au InShadow International Festival of Video (Lisbon), Performance and Technology, Dance Camera West (Los Angeles), Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival (Becket, Massachusetts), Loikka (Helsinki), le conférence Affective Experience (London, UK), le Regroupement québecois de la danse (Montréal), et plus récement au Malakta Art Factory (Malax, Finland). Ils étaient des artistes en résidence au Banff Centre (Alberta), UCLA (Los Angeles), and Malakta.

• About Us
  • Marlene Millar
  • Philip Szporer
  • Curatorial Essay
  • 2010-pandmMouvement Perpétuel is an award-winning Montreal-based independent film, video, and new media production company specializing in arts programming.

    Marlene Millar and Philip Szporer met in 1986 dancing in the work of New York choreographer Charles Dennis. Subsequently a friendship developed and their professional talents merged once more ten years later when they embarked on the first sketch of what was later to become the video series Moments in Motion/Au fil du mouvement. They shared a Fellowship for the Dance/Media Project at the University of California, Los Angeles, developing new ideas, and producing work in the United States. Their return to Canada saw the creation of Mouvement Perpétuel in 2001.

    Both have been immersed in the arts, whether in performance, journalism, or filmmaking, and are deeply committed to promoting the arts and engaging new audiences through their blend of documentary and art filmmaking, as well as exploring emerging technologies.

    Mouvement Perpétuel has produced a diverse body of films broadcast on Bravo!, ARTV, APTN, CBC, and Canal 33 in Spain. Their productions have received numerous honours and have been seen at over 100 festivals and events world-wide including at the Canadian Pavilion, Expo 2010 Shanghai, the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, UNESCO Cámaras de la Diversidad, and festivals worldwide.

    Sharing their expertise, Marlene and Philip have conducted master classes and workshops, as well as presentations, at Lisbon’s InShadow International Festival of Video, Performance and Technology, Dance Camera West (Los Angeles), Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival (Becket, Massachusetts), Loikka (Helsinki), the Affective Experience conference (London, UK), le Regroupement québecois de la danse (Montréal), and most recently at the Malakta Art Factory (Malax, Finland). They have been artists-in-residence at the Banff Centre (Alberta), UCLA (Los Angeles), and Malakta.